Menu
Cart
Name Price QTY Product image
  • :

Subtotal:
Tax included and shipping calculated at checkout

View cart

Your cart is empty

Past to future

La grande carrière wincqz

39,00 €
  • Architecture

Past to future

La grande carrière wincqz

New

39,00 €
Tax included.

Book details

ISBN :
978-2930451-42-08
Year :
2022
Cover :
soft cover with double flap
Size :
20 x 26 cm
Pages :
216
Languages :
Fr Nl

This book documents the conversion and restoration project of the Grande Carrière Wincqz in Soignies, Belgium. Built in the 19th century to excavate the world-renowned Belgian blue stone, today, the quarry is home to an ambitious project: the Pôle de la Pierre, a training centre specialising in the stone industry.

Architects Isabelle Toussaint, Matteo Robbiglio and Patrick Bribosia have adopted an architectural stance based on respect for all the archaeological and industrial traces of the site. They place particular emphasis on the contemporary interventions, which should be clearly identifiable while simultaneously harmoniously incorporated into the existing environment.

The book covers the transformation of the site in three essays:

- a photographic essay by Marie Noëlle Dailly exploring the interior and exterior spaces and landscapes of the transformed site; a conceptual essay inscribing the Soignies project in the more general context of the reuse of industrial heritage; a graphic essay that reconstructs the transformation of the site as a process of place-making as well as a collective process of meaning-making by means of documents, photographs of the construction phases, drawings and sketches. 

The authors

  • Isabelle Toussaint
    Isabelle Toussaint, architect, specialises in the conservation of monuments and sites at the Raymond Lemaire International Centre for Conservation of KU Leuven under the direction of Andrea Bruno. After working for the architectural firm Avventura Urbana for 20 years on urban regeneration and community architecture in Italy and France, in 2011 Isabelle and Matteo founded the firm TRA_Toussaint Robiglio Architetti, focusing on adaptive reuse and social architecture, in Italy and Belgium.
  • Matteo Robiglio
    Matteo Robiglio, architect and urban designer, is a Full Professor in Architectural and Urban Design at the Politecnico di Torino where, in 2017, he founded the FU LL – the Future Urban Legacy Lab, an interdisciplinary research laboratory exploring transformative design approaches to architectural and territorial heritage, until 2022. He is the author of RE-USA: 20 American Stories of Adaptive Reuse (Berlin 2017).
  • Patrick Bribosia
    Patrick Bribosia, architect and builder with a master in Conservation et restauration du patrimoine culturel immobilier, teaches theory and design at the Architecture School of Université de Liege. He works on restoration and development projects in Wallonia, where he actively promotes self-build initiatives for the reconstruction of heritage sites.
  • Marie-Noelle Dailly
    Marie Noëlle Dailly, photographer, graduated from the École de Recherche Graphique (Gilbert Fastenaekens and Jacques Vilet’s studios). She now teaches at the Académie des Beaux-Arts in Charleroi, where she lives and co-curates the Incise exhibition centre, dedicated to the integration of artworks in the public space.
Press kit

Menu
Panier
Nom Prix QTÉ Product image
  • :

Sous-total:
Taxes comprises et frais de livraison calculés lors de la finalisation de la commande

Voir le panier

Le panier est vide

Past to future

La grande carrière wincqz

39,00 €
  • Architecture

Past to future

La grande carrière wincqz

Nouveauté

39,00 €
Taxes comprises.

Caractéristisques de l'ouvrage

ISBN :
978-2930451-42-08
Année :
2022
Couverture :
couverture souple à double rabat
Dimensions :
20  x 26 cm
Nombre de pages :
216
Langues :
Fr Nl

Le livre documente le projet de reconversion et de restauration de la Grande Carrière Wincqz à Soignies en Belgique. Un site érigé au XIXe siècle pour la fouille de la célèbre pierre bleue belge, aujourd’hui dédié à un ambitieux projet : le Pôle de la pierre, un centre de formation dédié aux métiers de la pierre.

Isabelle Toussaint, Matteo Robbiglio, Patrick Bribosia, les architectes, inscrivent leur démarche architecturale dans le respect de toutes les traces archéologiques et industrielles du site. Ils portent une attention toute particulière aux interventions contemporaines qu’ils veulent clairement identifiables tout en s’intégrant harmonieusement dans l’existant.

L’ouvrage aborde la transformation du site en trois essais :

- un essai photographique de Marie Noëlle Dailly qui explore les espaces et les paysages intérieurs et extérieurs du site transformé ; un essai théorique qui inscrit le projet de Soignies dans la problématique plus générale de la réutilisation de l’héritage industriel ; un essai graphique qui reconstitue par le biais de documents, de photographies de phases de chantier, de dessins et d’esquisses la transformation du site comme un processus de création de lieux qui est aussi un processus collectif de création de sens.

Les auteurs

  • Isabelle Toussaint

    Architecte, est spécialisée dans la conservation des monuments et des sites au Raymond Lemaire International Centre for Conservation de la KU Leuven sous la direction d’Andrea Bruno. Après 20 ans passés au sein du cabinet d'architecture Avventura Urbana à travailler sur la régénération urbaine et l’architecture communautaire en Italie et en France, Isabelle et Matteo ont fondé en 2011 le cabinet TRA_ Toussaint Robiglio Architetti, spécialisé dans la réutilisation adaptative et l’architecture sociale, tant en Italie qu’en Belgique.

  • Matteo Robiglio
    Architecte et urbaniste, est Professeur titulaire en design architectural et urbain au Politecnico di Torino où il a fondé en 2017 et dirigé jusqu’en 2022 FULL – the Future Urban Legacy Lab, un laboratoire de recherche interdisciplinaire chargé d’explorer les approches de conception transformative du patrimoine architectural et territorial. Il est l’auteur de RE-USA: 20 American Stories of Adaptive Reuse (Berlin 2017).
  • Patrick Bribosia
    Architecte et constructeur, titulaire d’un master en Conservation et restauration du patrimoine culturel immobilier, enseigne la théorie et le design à l’école d’architecture de l’Université de Liège. Il travaille sur des projets de restauration et de développement en Wallonie, où il défend activement des projets d’auto-construction pour la réhabilitation de sites patrimoniaux.
  • Marie-Noëlle Dailly
    Photographe, est diplômée de l’enseignement artistique en photographie à l’École de Recherche Graphique (ateliers de Gilbert Fastenaekens et Jacques Vilet). Elle enseigne à l’Académie des Beaux-Arts de Charleroi où elle vit et occupe le poste de co-curatrice de l’espace d’exposition Incise, dédié à l’intégration d’oeuvre d'art dans l’espace public.
Communiqué de presse