Menu
Cart
Name Price QTY Product image
  • :

Subtotal:
Tax included and shipping calculated at checkout

View cart

Your cart is empty

Treasure trove of Jolités

  • Lydwine de Moerloose
$44.00
  • Art

Treasure trove of Jolités

  • Lydwine de Moerloose
$44.00
Tax included.

Book details

ISBN :
978-2-930451-28-2
Year :
2018
Cover :
cardboard
Size :
30 x 24 cm
Pages :
192
Languages :
Fr En

Apart from its world-famous waters, the town of Spa has many other hidden riches that are less well known.  The Jolités worthily represent the skill and decorative refinement of joiners, painters and inlayers, developed within the dynamic artisanal industry known as “Wood of Spa”.

With the art historian Lydwine de Moerloose as your guide, linger in the painted nooks and admire the details drawn in Indian ink or gouache. Discover the diversity of these small objects of genuine joinery, which have evolved from their historical roots in the mid-seventeenth century to form part, not only of the larger and smaller scale history of the town but also of the modern world, with its collectors and artists, who are today still opening new avenues into coming decades for these artistic skills

In the early 1980s, Lydwine de Moerloose made a detailed study of Les Bois de Spa (Wood of Spa) as her dissertation for a Masters degree in Archaeology and Art History at the Catholic University of Louvain. Her work in the milieu of antique dealers and subsequently in interior design enabled her to maintain a particular connection with Spa and its charming heritage. This book is truly the concrete expression of her project to share with all and sundry the fruit of these encounters and this knowledge, accumulated over so many years.

The author

  • Lydwine de Moerloose

Menu
Panier
Nom Prix QTÉ Product image
  • :

Sous-total:
Taxes comprises et frais de livraison calculés lors de la finalisation de la commande

Voir le panier

Le panier est vide

SPA - Ville-écrin des Jolités

  • Lydwine de Moerloose
$44.00
  • Art

SPA - Ville-écrin des Jolités

  • Lydwine de Moerloose
$44.00
Taxes comprises.

Caractéristisques de l'ouvrage

ISBN :
978-2-930451-28-2
Année :
2018
Couverture :
cartonnée
Dimensions :
30  x 24 cm
Nombre de pages :
192
Langues :
Fr En

Outre ses eaux mondialement célèbres, la ville de Spa recèle bien d’autres richesses méconnues. Les Jolités sont les dignes représentantes d’un travail de tabletterie et de décors peints ou incrustés des plus raffinés, développé grâce à la dynamique industrie d’art du « Bois de Spa ».

Guidés par Lydwine de Moerloose, historienne de l’art, attardez-vous dans les recoins vernis et admirez les détails dessinés à l’encre de Chine ou à la gouache. Découvrez la diversité de ce petit mobilier à part entière qui trouve ses racines dès le milieu du XVIIe siècle, s’intègre et évolue avec l’Histoire, grande et petite, de la ville, mais également du monde moderne avec ses collectionneurs et ses artistes qui lui ouvrent des sentiers inédits pour les décennies à venir.

Au début des années 1980, Lydwine de Moerloose a réalisé une étude approfondie sur « Les Bois de Spa » dans le cadre de son mémoire de Licence en Archéologie et Histoire de l’Art de l’Université catholique de Louvain. Son travail dans le milieu des antiquaires, puis dans la décoration d’intérieur, lui a permis de préserver un lien particulier avec Spa et son attachant patrimoine. C’est avec ce livre que se concrétise véritablement son projet de partager avec tous l’aboutissement de ces rencontres et ces connaissances accumulées tout au long de ces années.

L'auteur

  • Lydwine de Moerloose